Suno

Suno, Inc. · music generation · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

Staff and pupils: RED Not recommended for school data

Why red:

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
Yes
Where data is stored
Not stated
Minimum age
13–17
Use case
Music generation
Sector
Schools
Research status
Sourced

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Music generation) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

Staff and pupils

No better-rated alternative found yet: here’s what to look for.

  • It acts as a processor for your school (not a controller)
  • It doesn’t train its AI on what you type
  • Data stays in the UK/EU, or transfer safeguards (standard contractual clauses, the UK IDTA or adequacy) are stated
  • There is a data processing agreement (DPA) for schools
  • The minimum age fits your pupils, or pupils use it through a school account

We’ve logged this gap and will research tools for it in our weekly update.

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Suno, Inc.
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://suno.com
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
music generation
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
not stated

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
not stated
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
not stated
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
YES - submissions used to train models; no opt-out stated
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
not stated

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://suno.com/privacy
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
13+; 13-17 need parent/guardian consent
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
not stated
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
sourced (primary pages read 23 Oct 2026)

Sources

  1. suno.comhttps://suno.com/terms
  2. help.suno.comhttps://help.suno.com/en/articles/9720001
  3. suno.comhttps://suno.com/privacy

Change history

DateFieldWasNowSource
2026-10-22(new entry)—Added to the directorysuno.com

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Suno safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Suno Red for staff use (Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated) and Red for pupil use (Trains on what you type by default, with no school-level opt-out stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Suno train on our data?

According to the supplier's published documents: YES - submissions used to train models; no opt-out stated.

Where is Suno data stored?

Not stated in the supplier's published documents.

What age is Suno for?

13+; 13-17 need parent/guardian consent.

Is there a safer alternative to Suno?

We have not yet found a better-rated tool with the same main use. Our tool page lists what to look for instead.

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Suno changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.