Turnitin Clarity

Turnitin · writing environment / AI assistant · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
Depends / see detail
Where data is stored
Not stated
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Writing feedback for pupils
Sector
Schools, Further education (FE), Higher education (HE)
Research status
Sourced

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Writing feedback for pupils) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

Staff and pupils

  • FeedbackFruits (Acai AI) · Amber
    2 caution points (this tool: 4): Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
Turnitin
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://www.turnitin.com/products/clarity
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
writing environment / AI assistant
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
yes - students

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
processor (institution is controller)
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
not stated
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
de-identified assignment data may be used to improve the assistant; no generative LLM trained on essays
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
not stated

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://guides.turnitin.com/hc/en-us/articles/27377195682317-Turnitin-Services-Privacy-Policy
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
records edits, paste events, time and draft snapshots visible to instructors
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
sourced

Sources

  1. guides.turnitin.comhttps://guides.turnitin.com/hc/en-us/articles/36983230792461-FAQs-for-students-using-Turnitin-Clarity
  2. turnitin.co.ukhttps://www.turnitin.co.uk/trust-center

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Turnitin Clarity safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Turnitin Clarity Amber for staff use (Training depends on plan or settings; Doesn’t say where data is stored; No school DPA found; 4 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Training depends on plan or settings; Doesn’t say where data is stored; No school DPA found; 4 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Turnitin Clarity train on our data?

According to the supplier's published documents: de-identified assignment data may be used to improve the assistant; no generative LLM trained on essays.

Where is Turnitin Clarity data stored?

Not stated in the supplier's published documents.

What age is Turnitin Clarity for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Turnitin Clarity?

Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: FeedbackFruits (Acai AI) (amber).

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Turnitin Clarity changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.