← Back to Turnitin Clarity

Fits on one A4 page. Choose “Save as PDF” in the print window to attach it to an email or a governors’ paper.

AI tool summary for DPOs and governors

Turnitin Clarity

Turnitin · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 23 October 2026

AI Prefect

Staff: Amber · Use with caution
  • Training depends on plan or settings
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
  • Training depends on plan or settings
  • Doesn’t say where data is stored
  • No school DPA found
SupplierTurnitin
Categorywriting environment / AI assistant
Pupil-facingyes - students
Processor or controllerprocessor (institution is controller)
Where data is storednot stated
Trains AI models on inputsde-identified assignment data may be used to improve the assistant; no generative LLM trained on essays
How long inputs are keptnot stated
Data processing agreement (DPA)not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsnot stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOnot stated
Minimum agenot stated
Key safety noterecords edits, paste events, time and draft snapshots visible to instructors
Main useWriting feedback for pupils

Better-rated alternatives for the same use: FeedbackFruits (Acai AI) (Amber)

Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.

Sources: https://guides.turnitin.com/hc/en-us/articles/36983230792461-FAQs-for-students-using-Turnitin-Clarity · https://www.turnitin.co.uk/trust-center
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/turnitin-clarity. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.