Up Learn (Up Bot AI tutor)
AI tool summary for DPOs and governors. Up Learn Limited · Facts last checked 2026-10-23 · Printed 24 October 2026
AI Prefect
Staff: Amber · Use with caution
- Training depends on plan or settings
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
Pupils: Amber · Use with caution
- Training depends on plan or settings
- Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
- Doesn’t say where data is stored
| Supplier | Up Learn Limited |
|---|---|
| Category | A-level/GCSE courses / AI tutor |
| Pupil-facing | yes |
| Processor or controller | not stated |
| Where data is stored | not stated |
| Trains AI models on inputs | Up Bot trained on Up Learn course content; learning data used to improve services for all users and (de-identified) for research |
| How long inputs are kept | as long as necessary (no fixed period) |
| Data processing agreement (DPA) | not stated |
| Signs individual DPAs with schools | not stated |
| UK GDPR representative / DPO | not stated |
| Minimum age | not stated |
| Key safety note | learning data may be processed with AI tools for marking; uses legitimate interests for service improvement |
| Main use | Adaptive practice (multi-subject) |
Better-rated alternatives for the same use: CENTURY Tech (Amber), Educake (Amber)
Before using it: check the minimum age fits your pupils, confirm a data processing agreement is in place, switch off AI training where possible, and record the decision in your DPIA.
Sources: https://uplearn.co.uk/privacy-policy · https://uplearn.co.uk/resource-articles/how-up-learn-blends-ai-and-human-expertise-in-education
Full entry: aiprefect.co.uk/tools/up-learn. Rating is a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. “Not stated” means we could not find it in their documents. This is not legal advice and does not replace your DPIA.