Wordtune

AI21 Labs · AI rewriting · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
Yes
Where data is stored
Not stated
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Writing and paraphrasing assistant
Sector
Schools, Further education (FE), Higher education (HE)
Research status
Sourced

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Writing and paraphrasing assistant) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

Staff and pupils

  • Grammarly for Education (now Superhuman) · Amber
    4 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Jenni AI · Amber
    4 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
  • Notion AI · Amber
    4 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
AI21 Labs
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://www.wordtune.com/
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
AI rewriting
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
yes - students (consumer)

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
not stated
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
not stated
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
YES - consumer terms license submitted text for training; opt out by emailing privacy@wordtune.com; business 'Traceless' option excluded
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
not stated

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://www.wordtune.com/privacy-policy
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
not stated
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
sourced

Sources

  1. wordtune.comhttps://www.wordtune.com/terms-of-use
  2. wordtune.comhttps://www.wordtune.com/privacy-policy
  3. wordtune.comhttps://wordtune.com/business/terms-of-use

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is Wordtune safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates Wordtune Red for staff use (This plan trains on what you type by default; only a per-user opt-out (business/education plans are listed separately)) and Red for pupil use (This plan trains on what you type by default; only a per-user opt-out (business/education plans are listed separately)). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does Wordtune train on our data?

According to the supplier's published documents: YES - consumer terms license submitted text for training; opt out by emailing privacy@wordtune.com; business 'Traceless' option excluded.

Where is Wordtune data stored?

Not stated in the supplier's published documents.

What age is Wordtune for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to Wordtune?

Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Grammarly for Education (now Superhuman) (amber), Jenni AI (amber), Notion AI (amber).

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for Wordtune changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.