Attend (School Synergy)
School Synergy · attendance · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff: AMBER Use with caution
Why amber:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- Not stated
- Where data is stored
- UK / EU
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- Attendance, behaviour and communication
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Partial
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Attendance, behaviour and communication) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
For staff use
No better-rated alternative found yet: here’s what to look for.
- It acts as a processor for your school (not a controller)
- It doesn’t train its AI on what you type
- Data stays in the UK/EU, or transfer safeguards (standard contractual clauses, the UK IDTA or adequacy) are stated
- There is a data processing agreement (DPA) for schools
- The minimum age fits your pupils, or pupils use it through a school account
We’ve logged this gap and will research tools for it in our weekly update.
For pupil use
- ClassDojo (AI tools) · Amber
5 caution points: Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- School Synergy
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://www.attending.school
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- attendance
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- no
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- processor (school is controller, per DPA)
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- UK (and EEA where applicable); no transfer outside unless authorised, with SCCs/IDTA (DPA)
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- not stated
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- not stated
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://www.attending.school/about-us/policies-data
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- https://www.attending.school/schooldata/pages/data/Attend%20Data%20Processing%20Agreement.pdf
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- yes - DPA template names the school as controller
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- DPO: Alan Cree (named on policies page)
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- Cyber Essentials; working towards ISO 27001 (target Autumn 2026); AI features not described in published documents
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- partial - DPA read 23 Oct 2026; AI features and training not described
Sources
Change history
| Date | Field | Was | Now | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-10-23 | dpa url | — | https://www.attending.school/schooldata/pages/data/Attend%20Data%20Processing%20Agreement.pdf | attending.school |
| 2026-10-23 | processor or controller | — | processor (school is controller, per DPA) | attending.school |
| 2026-10-23 | data location | — | UK (and EEA where applicable); no transfer outside unless authorised, with SCCs/IDTA (DPA) | attending.school |
| 2026-10-23 | uk gdpr rep or dpo | — | DPO: Alan Cree (named on policies page) | attending.school |
| 2026-10-23 | signs individual dpa | — | yes - DPA template names the school as controller | attending.school |
| 2026-10-23 | key safety note | Cyber Essentials; DPA and privacy policy listed as documents; AI features not described | Cyber Essentials; working towards ISO 27001 (target Autumn 2026); AI features not described in published documents | attending.school |
| 2026-10-23 | Staff rating | grey | amber | attending.school |
| 2026-10-23 | Pupil rating | grey | red | attending.school |
Quick answers
Is Attend (School Synergy) safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Attend (School Synergy) Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type; 3 of 6 key fields not stated) and Red for pupil use (Supplier says it is not for pupils). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Attend (School Synergy) train on our data?
- Not stated. We could not find a published statement from the supplier on whether Attend (School Synergy) trains its AI on what users type.
Where is Attend (School Synergy) data stored?
- UK (and EEA where applicable); no transfer outside unless authorised, with SCCs/IDTA (DPA).
What age is Attend (School Synergy) for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to Attend (School Synergy)?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: ClassDojo (AI tools) (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.