ClassDojo (AI tools)

ClassDojo · class communication / behaviour · Last checked 2026-10-23

Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out

How is this rated?

Key facts

Trains on what you type
No
Where data is stored
Mixed
Minimum age
Not stated
Use case
Attendance, behaviour and communication
Sector
Schools
Research status
Sourced

Safer alternatives

Same main use (Attendance, behaviour and communication) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen

For staff use

For pupil use

No better-rated alternative found yet: here’s what to look for.

  • It acts as a processor for your school (not a controller)
  • It doesn’t train its AI on what you type
  • Data stays in the UK/EU, or transfer safeguards (standard contractual clauses, the UK IDTA or adequacy) are stated
  • There is a data processing agreement (DPA) for schools
  • The minimum age fits your pupils, or pupils use it through a school account

We’ve logged this gap and will research tools for it in our weekly update.

New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.

About the tool

SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
ClassDojo
WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
https://www.classdojo.com/
CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
class communication / behaviour
Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
yes

Your data

Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
not stated
Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
USA (UK data transferred under International DPA)
Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
no - children's data not used to train; providers barred from training
How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
zero-data-retention contracts with OpenAI and Anthropic

Agreements and contacts

Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
https://www.classdojo.com/privacy/
Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
not stated
Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
not stated
UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
not stated

Age and safety

Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
not stated
Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
not stated
Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
sourced

Sources

  1. help.classdojo.comhttps://help.classdojo.com/hc/en-us/articles/34969247491341-Parent-AI-Transparency-Note
  2. help.classdojo.comhttps://help.classdojo.com/hc/en-us/articles/360053338371-Transfer-of-Personal-Data-to-the-U-S
  3. classdojo.comhttps://www.classdojo.com/privacy/

Change history

No changes recorded since this entry was first published.

See all recent changes

Quick answers

Is ClassDojo (AI tools) safe for UK schools?

AI Prefect rates ClassDojo (AI tools) Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated) and Amber for pupil use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Data may be stored outside the UK/EU; safeguards not stated; No school DPA found; 3 of 6 key fields not stated; Minimum age not stated). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.

Does ClassDojo (AI tools) train on our data?

According to the supplier's published documents: no - children's data not used to train; providers barred from training.

Where is ClassDojo (AI tools) data stored?

USA (UK data transferred under International DPA).

What age is ClassDojo (AI tools) for?

Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.

Is there a safer alternative to ClassDojo (AI tools)?

Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: Attend (School Synergy) (amber).

Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.

Tell me if this rating changes

Suppliers change their terms. Leave your email and we’ll let you know if the rating for ClassDojo (AI tools) changes. Nothing else.

Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.