Satchel One Sidekick
The Satchel Group · teacher assistant AI · Last checked 2026-10-23
Rating: a rules-based summary of the supplier’s published terms. Not legal advice and not a substitute for a DPIA. How it’s worked out
Staff: AMBER Use with caution
Why amber:
Key facts
- Trains on what you type
- No
- Where data is stored
- Not stated
- Minimum age
- Not stated
- Use case
- Lesson planning and teacher resources
- Sector
- Schools
- Research status
- Sourced
Safer alternatives
Same main use (Lesson planning and teacher resources) and sector, rated better for the same audience. Alternatives are suggested from our published ratings; check they meet your needs. How alternatives are chosen
For staff use
- MagicSchool · Green
Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available - Teachmate · Green
Processor, no training on inputs, UK/EU storage or stated transfer safeguards, school DPA available - Brisk Teaching · Amber
1 caution point (this tool: 4): Training depends on plan or settings
For pupil use
- MagicSchool · Amber
1 caution point: Minimum age not stated - Brisk Teaching · Amber
2 caution points: Training depends on plan or settings - Discovery Education Experience · Amber
3 caution points: Doesn’t say whether it trains on what you type
New here? Each field has a short explanation underneath. Our getting started guide explains what to look for and what to do next.
About the tool
- SupplierThe company that makes and runs the tool.
- The Satchel Group
- WebsiteWhere we found the main information about the tool.
- https://www.teamsatchel.com/sidekick.html
- CategoryWhat sort of tool it is, for example a chatbot or a lesson-planning helper.
- teacher assistant AI
- Pupil-facingWhether pupils use it directly, or only staff. Pupil use needs extra care.
- no - teacher-facing
Your data
- Processor or controllerA processor only uses data on your school’s instructions. A controller makes its own decisions about the data, which means your school has less say.
- not stated
- Where data is storedWhich country the data is stored in. UK or EU storage is usually simpler for schools.
- not stated
- Trains AI models on inputsWhether what you type (or upload) may be used to improve the supplier’s AI. “No” is what you want for anything about pupils or staff.
- no - third parties barred from training
- How long inputs are keptHow long the supplier keeps what you type before deleting it.
- third-party data deleted within 30 days
Agreements and contacts
- Privacy noticeThe supplier’s privacy notice: their own explanation of what they do with personal data.
- https://www.thesatchelgroup.com/legals/privacy-notice.html
- Data processing agreement (DPA)The data processing agreement: the contract that sets out how the supplier must look after your school’s data.
- not stated
- Signs individual DPAs with schoolsWhether the supplier will sign a data agreement with your school specifically, rather than just standard online terms.
- not stated
- UK GDPR representative / DPOWhether the supplier names a data protection officer or UK representative you can contact about data questions.
- not stated
Age and safety
- Minimum ageThe youngest age the supplier allows to use the tool. Check this before any pupil uses it.
- not stated
- Key safety noteAnything else worth knowing, such as admin controls or content filtering.
- not stated
- Research statusHow complete our research on this tool is.
- sourced
Sources
- teamsatchel.comhttps://www.teamsatchel.com/sidekick.html
Change history
No changes recorded since this entry was first published.
Quick answers
Is Satchel One Sidekick safe for UK schools?
- AI Prefect rates Satchel One Sidekick Amber for staff use (Doesn’t say if it is a processor or controller; Doesn’t say where data is stored; No school DPA found; 4 of 6 key fields not stated) and Red for pupil use (Supplier says it is not for pupils). This is based on the supplier's published documents, last checked 2026-10-23. It is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.
Does Satchel One Sidekick train on our data?
- According to the supplier's published documents: no - third parties barred from training.
Where is Satchel One Sidekick data stored?
- Not stated in the supplier's published documents.
What age is Satchel One Sidekick for?
- Not stated. The supplier does not publish a minimum age we could find.
Is there a safer alternative to Satchel One Sidekick?
- Better-rated tools with the same main use and sector: MagicSchool (amber), Teachmate (green), Brisk Teaching (amber), Discovery Education Experience (amber).
Generated only from the facts above. “Not stated” means the supplier doesn’t publish it.
Spotted something out of date? Suppliers change their terms. Tell us and we will re-check it. This page is not legal advice; complete your own DPIA.